Know a company with years of records? Refer it and earn up to $50K
Buyer review

Labelbox Prism review: payouts, terms and its exclusive-by-default license

Labelbox Prism review: published $50K to $1M+ payouts, upfront fee plus revenue share, exclusive-by-default licenses, and the claims we could not verify.

Published range
$50K to $1M+Prism FAQ; specialized data can exceed it
How you are paid
Upfront fee + revenue shareFee at signing, share of downstream use
Default rights
Exclusive"exclusive by default" (Prism)
Time to first wire
About 21 daysPrism's claim
Parent
LabelboxFounded 2018; $100M+ Series E, Oct 2026
Three folders side by side with a ruler laid across them
Short answer

Labelbox Prism is the company-data buying program of Labelbox, an AI data company founded in 2018 that raised more than $100 million at a $1.25 billion pre-money valuation in October 2026. Prism says smaller targeted datasets start around $50K and large enterprise partnerships reach $1M+, paid as an upfront fee at signing plus a revenue share, with about 21 days from first call to first wire. The main catch: its licenses are "structured as exclusive by default", so you may not be able to license the same data to anyone else. Its "$100M+ distributed" figure is its own claim, and we found no public report from a paid seller.

  • Published range: about $50K for smaller targeted datasets to $1M+ for large enterprise partnerships, according to Prism.
  • You are paid an upfront fee at signing plus a revenue share on downstream use, Prism says.
  • Licenses are exclusive by default. Ask for the scope and length of exclusivity in writing before you sign.
  • The parent is credible (profitable in 2026, by its own account, and well funded), but Prism's own totals are unverified.

Labelbox Prism review: the short version

Prism buys operational data from companies, such as Salesforce, Jira, Slack, SAP, CAD and finance records, and "work documents" such as coding sessions and research traces. It runs on a Labelbox subdomain and is part of Labelbox, which builds training data and reinforcement-learning environments for AI labs.

It suits a mid-sized or large company with years of connected records in mainstream business systems, that is comfortable with an exclusive license and wants a revenue share as well as an upfront payment. It suits a company less well if it wants to license the same records to several buyers.

The headline numbers are Prism's own. Before you compare its offer with anyone else's, see what your data is worth so you know what a fair range looks like for your records.

What does Labelbox Prism buy?

Prism describes two ways to license. "Operational data" means business systems "like Salesforce, Jira, Slack, SAP, CAD, and financial workbooks", which it turns into training environments for enterprise AI. "Work documents" covers "coding sessions, scientific workflows, financial modeling, research traces" and similar day-to-day knowledge work.

Its homepage lists categories with "confirmed buyer interest". Financial reasoning traces (underwriting, valuation, forecasting, investing and M&A workflows) are marked urgent. Longitudinal customer support (6+ months of multi-channel logs with resolution tags, preferably from high-volume consumer companies), code edit traces, multimodal medical records, robotics telemetry and consented voice and likeness data are marked high demand.

You can also propose a category. Prism says its business development team "will scope and respond within 48 hours", and its about page promises a preliminary valuation within one business day of a scoping form.

Source: Labelbox Prism: homepage

How much does Labelbox Prism pay?

"Smaller, more targeted datasets typically start around $50K, while large-scale enterprise data partnerships can reach $1M+," according to Prism's FAQ. It adds that highly specialized or high-demand data can exceed that range. Price depends on data type, scale, exclusivity and buyer demand.

Payment comes in two parts: "an upfront licensing fee at signing plus a revenue share on downstream use." Prism does not publish the split between the two or the revenue-share percentage. The table sets out the published terms and what each one leaves open.

TermWhat Prism publishesWhat to confirm
Payout rangeAbout $50K to $1M+; specialized data can exceed itHow your offer was priced and which records drove it
Payment structureUpfront fee at signing plus a revenue shareThe revenue-share rate, how downstream use is reported and how long it runs
Exclusivity"Exclusive by default"; other structures possibleScope, length and field of use of the exclusivity
TimingAbout 21 days from first call to first wireThe payment date written into the contract
CancellingFAQ: kill clause, deletion within 30 days. How-it-works page: revocation with 90-day noticeWhich wording is in your contract
Data handlingPII removed before export; data then moves to Prism's infrastructureWho removes PII, and where the data is stored
Employee dataHR records and individual employee identifiers excluded by defaultThat the exclusion is written into the license
Fees to the sellerNot stated on Prism's pagesThat nothing is deducted from the fee or the revenue share

Source: Labelbox Prism: FAQs

Is Labelbox Prism exclusive by default?

Yes. Prism's enterprise page says: "Licenses are structured as exclusive by default and tailored to the scope, sensitivity, and strategic value of the data." Its FAQ repeats that "in the vast majority of cases, our data partnerships are structured as exclusive by default, while you retain full ownership and continued use of your data."

In plain terms, you keep the data and can keep using it in your business, but you usually cannot license the same records to another AI buyer while the exclusivity lasts. Prism's pages do not say how long that is. It says it can support other structures "such as single-buyer access, category restrictions, or time-based windows", and that "any additional exclusivity requirements are reflected in the pricing paid by the buyer, not taken from you."

Exclusivity is not bad in itself; it should come with a higher price. The trade-off is that your later income depends on one channel, Prism's revenue share, rather than on selling again yourself. Read exclusive vs non-exclusive data licenses before you agree to it, and ask for a time limit and a narrow field of use.

Source: Labelbox Prism: enterprise

Is Labelbox Prism legit?

The company behind it is established. Labelbox was started in 2018, and on October 14, 2026 it announced "more than $100 million in Series E financing, including equity and a credit facility, at a $1.25 billion pre-money valuation", led by Infinitum Partners with Wipro Ventures, a16z and B Capital (Labelbox; Unite.AI). It says it reached profitability in 2026, works with 90% of the leading frontier AI labs and hyperscalers, and runs an expert network of more than 4 million people.

What is not verified is Prism itself. Its pages claim "$100M+ distributed" and "1k+ companies licensing", but they do not say over what period, or whether the total includes payments to individual contributors as well as companies. We found no public report from a company that was paid through Prism. Labelbox's funding announcement describes its Horizon and Recursion products and does not mention Prism, so the funding tells you about the parent's strength rather than Prism's track record.

One inconsistency is worth raising. The FAQ says every license has "a kill clause that forces deletion within 30 days" for material breach, regulatory change or a change-of-control trigger. The how-it-works page lists "revocation with 90-day notice". Both may be true in different situations; ask which applies to you. Prism also notes that models already trained on the data "cannot be unlearned".

Our view: Prism is a real program from a credible, well-funded company, with clearer published terms than most. Treat its totals as marketing claims until a contract confirms the numbers that matter to you.

Source: Labelbox Prism: FAQs

Can a closing or distressed company sell to Prism?

Yes. Prism says "distressed and wound-down companies are some of our most active sellers". It offers wind-down packages: "a single payment for the full operational corpus, executed inside bankruptcy proceedings if needed". That is a different structure from the standard upfront fee plus revenue share, so ask which one an offer uses.

If your company is closing, see selling a defunct company's data for who can sign once a trustee or liquidator is involved, and export records before your software subscriptions lapse.

Source: Labelbox Prism: FAQs

How Labelbox Prism compares with other company-data programs

Prism is the only one of the three programs we reviewed that publishes both a price range and an ongoing revenue share. It is also the only one whose default is plainly exclusive in its headline terms. Figures are as each program publishes them, read November 6, 2026.

Origin also covers the programs run by Mercor, micro1, Handshake AI and Turing. See company data buyers compared for their published terms side by side, Mercor competitors for the wider field, and exclusive vs non-exclusive data licenses for what each license type costs you in future deals.

ProgramPublished payHow you are paidExclusivity (as published)Timing (as published)Who is behind it
Labelbox PrismAbout $50K to $1M+Upfront fee at signing plus a revenue share on downstream useExclusive by defaultAbout 21 days from first call to first wire (Prism's claim)Labelbox, a privately held AI data company founded in 2018
Polyshares$100K to $2M and above, typicallyPaid per license, net 30 to 60 days after approval, anonymization and deliveryExclusive by default unless agreed otherwise; its four published deals are perpetual exclusiveOffer in one to two weeksPolyshares, Inc., run by two managing partners; it does not publish its founding date or investors
Appen enterprise dataNot published; each deal quoted individuallyPaid on acceptance, after you approve a sample packNot statedReply within two business days; payment timing not statedAppen Limited, listed on the ASX (APX), founded in 1996

Questions to ask Labelbox Prism before you sign

Use these in the first call and make sure the answers appear in the contract, not only in an email. Our data licensing agreement guide explains each clause.

  • How long does the exclusivity last, and does it cover all AI uses or only a defined field?
  • What is the revenue-share rate, how is downstream use measured, and how often will we receive reports and payments?
  • How much of the total is the upfront fee, and is any of it refundable or conditional?
  • Which revocation terms apply to us: deletion within 30 days, 90 days' notice, or both?
  • Who removes personal data, by what method, and can we review a de-identified sample before it leaves?
  • Which buyers or kinds of buyer will receive our data, and can we exclude competitors?
  • Does the "$100M+ distributed" figure include payments to individual contributors, and can you share a company reference?

Next step

Before you accept an exclusive license, know what your records could fetch from other buyers. Compare Prism with Polyshares and Appen's enterprise data program, and read is selling company data to AI legit? for the legal checks every program will ask about.

Origin Data Partners works with companies that own data and helps get it bought. We are independent of the services on this page, and a buyer may pay us when a deal closes (how Origin is paid). See what your data is worth.

Common questions

Is Labelbox Prism legit?

Prism is run by Labelbox, a US AI data company founded in 2018 that raised more than $100 million at a $1.25 billion pre-money valuation in October 2026 and says it is profitable. Its own totals, "$100M+ distributed" and "1k+ companies licensing", are unverified, and we found no public report from a paid seller. Confirm every number in the contract.

How much does Labelbox Prism pay?

Prism says smaller targeted datasets start around $50K and large enterprise partnerships can reach $1M+, with highly specialized data sometimes higher. Payment is an upfront licensing fee at signing plus a revenue share on downstream use. It does not publish the revenue-share rate.

What is the Labelbox Prism payout timeline?

Prism claims about 21 days from first call to first wire and a preliminary valuation within one business day of its scoping form. These are its own figures. Make sure the payment date is written into the license.

Is Labelbox Prism exclusive?

Yes, by default. Prism says "Licenses are structured as exclusive by default", while you keep ownership and continued use of your data. It says it can offer single-buyer, category or time-based structures, so ask for the length and scope of exclusivity in writing.

What are Labelbox data partners?

Labelbox calls the companies that license data through Prism its data partners. They supply operational records or work documents, and Prism handles de-identification, legal terms and delivery to AI buyers.

What data does Labelbox Prism buy?

Operational data from systems like Salesforce, Jira, Slack, SAP, CAD and finance workbooks, plus work documents such as coding sessions and research traces. It marks financial reasoning traces as urgent, and longitudinal customer support, code edit traces, medical records and robotics telemetry as high demand.

Does my data leave my company with Prism?

Yes. Prism says it removes personal information when data is exported and then moves it into its own infrastructure, encrypted with customer-managed keys and kept in your chosen region. HR records and individual employee identifiers are excluded by default.

Can I cancel a Labelbox Prism license?

Prism's FAQ describes a kill clause that forces deletion within 30 days for material breach, regulatory change or a change-of-control trigger you define. Its how-it-works page mentions revocation with 90-day notice. Models already trained on the data cannot be unlearned.

Sources and further reading

Origin Data Partners is independent and not affiliated with any buyer named on this page.

What is your company’s data worth?

AI companies pay $20K to $5M for company records. Six questions, no files.