Know a company with years of records? Refer it and earn up to $50K
Buyer guide

What AI buyers publish for company data: 8 programs and 24 listings compared (October 2026)

Original data: published payouts, size minimums, payment timing and referral fees across 8 company-data programs and all 24 Mercor listings. Free CSV download.

Programs compared
8Buyers, intermediaries and a marketplace
Median Mercor range
$50K to $843KAcross 24 listings
Smallest size minimum
5 staffSeveral Mercor listings
Fastest published payment
2 to 4 weeksMercor
Rolled drawings, a hard hat and a tape measure in a site office
Short answer

Across 8 company-data programs and all 24 of Mercor's published listings, read on October 26, 2026, the typical published range for a company is about $50K at the low end and $843K at the top. Only 6 of Mercor's 24 listings go above $1M. Headline figures run far above what the same programs' calculators show: Handshake AI advertises $100K to $4M+ while its calculator shows up to $100,000. Size minimums range from 5 staff (several Mercor listings) to 30 full-time employees (micro1), and published payment timing ranges from 2 to 4 weeks (Mercor) to about 60 days (micro1 and BizBuyData). The full dataset is free to download.

  • The median Mercor listing publishes $50K to $843K. The top of each range is typically about 12 times the bottom, so where a company lands depends far more on its records than on its industry.
  • Headlines and calculators disagree. Handshake AI headlines $100K to $4M+ but its calculator shows up to $100,000; micro1 shows three different starting figures on one page.
  • Size gates are lower than most owners assume: Mercor lists firms from 5 staff, and BizBuyData accepts law firms with 6 employees.
  • Referral bounties are large: up to $100K per company at Mercor and the greater of $50K or 6% at BizBuyData, which explains the flood of new intermediaries.

Key findings

Origin Data Partners read the public terms of 8 programs that pay companies for internal records, and all 24 company listings Mercor publishes, on October 26, 2026. Figures are what each program publishes, not offers or completed deals.

  • Typical range: the median Mercor listing publishes $50K to $843K. 6 of 24 listings top $1M; 6 start at $25K or less.
  • Wide spread within each listing: the top of a range is a median 12 times the bottom. Design and web agencies have the widest range, $20K to $890K (about 44 times).
  • Highest published ceilings: manufacturing and industrial ($1.5M), hardware engineering ($1.3M), law firms ($1.2M), hedge funds and quant firms ($1.1M).
  • Headline versus calculator: Handshake AI advertises $100K to $4M+ while its own calculator shows up to $100,000. micro1's page gives three different starting points: $100K, $150K and $200K.
  • Size minimums run from 5 staff (Mercor) to 30 full-time employees (micro1).
  • Published payment timing runs from 2 to 4 weeks (Mercor) to about 60 days (micro1, BizBuyData).
  • Referral bounties run from $10K (Handshake AI, Turing) to $100K (Mercor) per company.

The 8 programs side by side

Three kinds of programs publish terms: AI data companies that buy directly, intermediaries that license records on to AI labs, and a marketplace for closing startups. Download the full table (CSV).

ProgramTypePublished payoutSize or eligibilityPayment timing
Mercor DataBuyer$20K to $1.5M by company typeFrom 5 staff, set per listing2 to 4 weeks after signing
micro1Buyer$100K to $500K, $500K to $2M, $2M+30+ full-time staff, English records, US firstWithin 30 days of acceptance
Handshake AIBuyer$100K to $4M+20+ full-time staff, 3+ yearsNot stated
Turing Lazarus (operating record)BuyerUp to $1M, one paymentReal operating history; open or closedValuation within about a week of sampling
Turing Lazarus (codebases)Buyer$10K to $100K+ per repo50K+ lines of code, English, runs in DockerMost finish in under two weeks
BizBuyData (Mode)IntermediaryVaries; $5B initiative20+ US office staff (10 accounting, 6 law)About 60 days
SourceXIntermediaryUp to $4MAbout 50+ staff at peak, years of historyOne-time payment; perpetual exclusivity by default
SimpleClosure AssetHubMarketplaceAbout $1M across nearly 100 deals (test year)Closing startupsNot stated

Source: Each program page as listed under Sources, read October 26, 2026

Mercor's 24 listings, ranked by published ceiling

Mercor is the only buyer that publishes a separate range for each kind of company. Download all 24 listings (CSV).

Company typeSize guidancePublished range to the company
Manufacturing and industrial20 to 2,000 employees$100K to $1.5M
Hardware engineering20 to 2,000 employees$45K to $1.3M
Law firm5 to 300 attorneys and staff$50K to $1.2M
Hedge fund or quant firm5 to 500 employees$25K to $1.1M
Construction50 to 2,000 employees$115K to $1M
Game studio10 to 500 employees$100K to $1M
Digital health10 to 500 employees$100K to $900K
Payments and fintechNot stated$80K to $900K
Design and web agency10 to 200 employees$20K to $890K
Biotech and life sciences lab10 to 1,000 employees$50K to $875K
Video production studio5 to 500 employees$95K to $870K
Accounting and tax firm5 to 200 employees$25K to $865K
Medical practice or health system10+ clinicians or 2,500+ patients$80K to $820K
Investment firm5 to 200 employees$50K to $800K
Consumer brand or photo studio10 to 500 employees$30K to $800K
Semiconductor and materials10 to 2,000 employees$100K to $750K
Cybersecurity20 to 2,000 employees$20K to $750K
Imaging and diagnostics centerAny size$80K to $620K
Software company (private code)15 to 500 employees$50K to $500K
AI product company5 to 200 employees$20K to $480K
Publisher or education company10 to 500 employees$35K to $370K
SaaS and subscription50 to 1,000 employees, with a data team$55K to $350K
Consulting and advisory10 to 500 employees$150K to $300K
Call center or BPO50 to 5,000 agents$20K to $250K

Source: Mercor Data: Refer a company (24 listings), read October 26, 2026

Headline figures run far above the calculators

The biggest numbers are marketing ceilings. Handshake AI's page advertises $100K to $4M+, while the calculator on the same page tells visitors their data could be worth up to $100,000. micro1 publishes tiers starting at $100K, a headline starting at $200K and a process section starting at $150K.

For an owner, the useful number is the range for a company like theirs, and the only way to get it is an assessment of the actual records. Treat any headline as the best case for unusually complete, long and rare records.

Source: Handshake AI: Data partnerships

Size and country gates are lower than most owners assume

Mercor lists law firms, investment firms, accounting firms and AI product companies from 5 staff. BizBuyData accepts law firms with 6 employees and accounting firms with 10. The stricter gates are micro1 (30+ full-time employees, mostly English records, US first) and SourceX (about 50 at peak).

Country rules are rarely spelled out. BizBuyData requires US office employees. micro1 prioritizes the US, then the UK, Canada and other Western markets. Handshake AI's calculator offers the USA, Canada, Europe and Other. See selling company data from outside the US.

How fast programs pay, and what they ask for

Mercor says payment arrives by wire typically 2 to 4 weeks after signing and that it covers extraction and anonymization costs. micro1 pays within 30 days of acceptance, and its FAQ describes a 30-day review before invoicing. BizBuyData describes a 14-day letter of intent, 15 to 30 days of de-identification and payment in about 60 days.

Exclusivity is where terms differ most. SourceX's standard terms ask for a one-time payment with no royalties and perpetual exclusivity for AI training, though it says shorter or non-exclusive terms can be agreed. Exclusivity should be priced separately: see what to include in a data licensing agreement.

Referral bounties explain the rush of new intermediaries

Programs pay people who introduce a company: up to $100K per company at Mercor (which says it has paid referrers over $2M in 2026), the greater of $50K or 6% of the payment at BizBuyData, an advertised 50K+ at micro1, and $10K at Handshake AI and Turing. Those amounts are why dozens of new sites now offer to "sell your data" for owners.

Owners should ask any intermediary how it is paid. Origin Data Partners publishes this study and may receive referral compensation from a receiving company; it is not affiliated with any program named here. Read the referral disclosure.

Source: Mercor Data: Refer a company

How big the market is, by the programs' own numbers

For completed deals rather than published terms, see the AI data licensing deals tracker.

  • Mercor says it has paid companies more than $50M for their data.
  • Handshake AI says it has paid out $250M to partners and works with 1,000+ partner companies.
  • micro1 committed $1 billion over 12 months to licensing company data, according to Business Insider (October 2026).
  • SimpleClosure says more than 350 companies have listed on AssetHub since April 2026 and expects to return over $10M to listing startups by year end.

Method and how to cite

Each figure was read from the program's own public page on October 26, 2026, except BizBuyData (its launch release), SourceX (a sponsored article on TechCrunch) and SimpleClosure (an interview in Upstarts Media). Where a page gives conflicting figures, all are recorded. Medians use the low and high of each of Mercor's 24 listings. Programs change their pages often; the CSV files record the date read.

Free to reuse with a link. Suggested citation: Origin Data Partners, "What AI buyers publish for company data" (October 2026), origindatapartners.com/guides/ai-company-data-buyer-programs-study. Downloads: programs (CSV), Mercor listings (CSV).

Origin Data Partners is independent and is not affiliated with any program named here. We help owners compare buyers and find the best fit for their records. See what your data is worth.

Common questions

How much do AI companies pay for company data?

Published ranges run from about $10K for a small codebase to $4M+ at the top of Handshake AI's headline range. Across Mercor's 24 listings the median published range is $50K to $843K. These are ceilings set by each program, not offers; the final figure depends on the records, their history and the rights you hold.

Which program publishes the highest payouts?

Handshake AI and SourceX both advertise up to $4M (Handshake AI as $100K to $4M+). micro1 publishes a $2M+ tier for highly unique data. Mercor's highest single listing is $1.5M, for manufacturing and industrial companies.

What is the minimum company size?

It varies by program: 5 staff for several Mercor listings, 6 employees for law firms at BizBuyData, 20 full-time employees at Handshake AI, 30 at micro1, and about 50 at peak for SourceX. Turing measures codebases instead, with a 50,000-line minimum.

How quickly do these programs pay?

Mercor says payment typically arrives 2 to 4 weeks after signing. Turing says most codebase sellers finish in under two weeks. micro1 and BizBuyData describe about 60 days from acceptance or offer to payment.

Can I use this data?

Yes. Both CSV files are free to download and reuse with a link to this page as the source. Figures are as published by each program on October 26, 2026 and will change.

Sources and further reading

Origin Data Partners is independent and not affiliated with any buyer named on this page.

What is your company’s data worth?

AI companies pay $20K to $5M for company records. Six questions, no files.