# Polyshares review: is Polyshares legit, what it pays and the exclusivity question

> Is Polyshares legit? Its $100K to $2M+ range, four published deals, net 30 to 60 payment, no seller fee, who runs it and why exclusivity needs to be in writing.

Canonical: https://origindatapartners.com/guides/polyshares-review
By: Origin Data Partners
Status: Published
Published: 2026-11-06
Updated: 2026-11-06
Sources checked: 2026-11-06

## Quick answer

Polyshares, run by managing partners Nathan Mathews and Ryan Lock, licenses companies' operational records (Slack, email, CRM, tickets, ERP exports) and supplies them to AI labs; it is a company that does not publish its founding date or investors. It publishes typical deals of $100K to $2M and above, an offer within one to two weeks, no fee to the seller, and payment net 30 to 60 days after the data is approved, anonymized and delivered. The main catch is exclusivity: its data-handling page says licenses are "exclusive by default unless we agree otherwise", its four published deals are each a "perpetual exclusive license", and a podcast host's summary says its co-founder never signs a perpetual license (it is unclear whether this describes Polyshares' own licenses). Get the term and exclusivity in writing.

## Key points

- Published range: typical deals of $100K to $2M and above, with no fee or commission to the seller.
- Its four published case studies run from $110,000 to $450,000, each a perpetual exclusive license; company names are confidential.
- Payment is net 30 to 60 days after the data is approved, anonymized and delivered, and only after Polyshares reviews a sample.
- Exclusivity statements conflict across its own pages and interviews, and no full license contract is published.
- Polyshares pays people who introduce deals, so some reviews of it may be paid for introductions.

## Polyshares review: the short version

[Polyshares](https://polyshares.com/) calls itself "a data lab". It says it licenses a company's working record directly, pays for it itself, anonymizes it and supplies AI labs. "Operational data" means Slack and Teams, email, Drive, spreadsheets, CRM history, support tickets, design files, call recordings, and accounting and ERP exports.

It suits an owner-run or mid-sized company with several years of real working records who wants one counterparty, a quick offer and no fees. It suits a company less well if it wants to license the same records to several buyers, or needs a full contract to review before the first call.

Before you take an offer, [see what your data is worth](https://origindatapartners.com/check-fit), so you can judge whether the number and the exclusivity are fair.


## How much does Polyshares pay?

"Typical deals run $100K to $2M and above," says [Polyshares' homepage](https://polyshares.com/). It says depth of operating history and "how much visible reasoning the record contains" move the price far more than volume.

Its [case studies page](https://polyshares.com/track-record) lists four licenses, described as "a selection" with company names kept confidential. We could not check them independently. All four sit in the lower part of the published range, as the table below shows.

In a podcast episode in October 2026, the host's notes say co-founder Ryan Lock "tracked $1M in revenue in his first month" and explain "why the average deal is around $300,000" ([Build With AI](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/he-made-%241-000-000-in-30-days-brokering-data-to-ai-labs/id1689819329?i=1000794525254)). These are the company's own claims, made in an interview.

| Seller (as described) | Sector | Price | Terms stated |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Roofing company | Home services | $450,000 | Perpetual exclusive license, anonymized before delivery |
| General contractor | Construction | $300,000 | Perpetual exclusive license, anonymized before delivery |
| Solar company | Energy | $275,000 | Perpetual exclusive license, anonymized before delivery |
| Global marketing agency | Professional services | $110,000 | Perpetual exclusive license, anonymized before delivery |

Source: [Polyshares: case studies](https://polyshares.com/track-record)

## Polyshares terms at a glance

As published on [its homepage](https://polyshares.com/), [data licensing page](https://polyshares.com/data-licensing) and [data handling page](https://polyshares.com/data-handling), read November 6, 2026. Polyshares does not publish a full license contract: its "standard license terms" link points to its data licensing summary page.

| Term | What Polyshares publishes | What to confirm |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Counterparty | "We are the buyer. No marketplace, no listing, no auction." | The legal entity that signs and pays |
| Deal size | $100K to $2M, and above for large records | Which records drove your price |
| Cost to you | "No fee, no commission" | That nothing is deducted at payment |
| Offer | Within one to two weeks of intake, papered right after | How long the offer stays open |
| Review | Polyshares reads an anonymized sample before pricing | What happens if the full record differs from the sample |
| Payment | Net 30 to 60 once the data is approved, shared and anonymized | The exact due date and what counts as approval |
| Anonymization | A specialist PII partner strips names, emails, phone and account numbers | Who the partner is and who carries liability for a miss |
| Scope | "Defined material for a defined term"; excludes data held for your clients | The list of systems, dates and records covered |
| Exclusivity | "Exclusive by default unless we agree otherwise" | Whether exclusive, for how long, and whether perpetual |
| Where data goes | Supplied to AI labs; Polyshares does not disclose which | Whether you can exclude competitors or named buyers |

Source: [Polyshares: how we handle your data](https://polyshares.com/data-handling)

## Is a Polyshares license exclusive or perpetual?

This is the term to settle first, because Polyshares' own statements point in different directions. The table below sets them side by side.

Polyshares' homepage also says you "keep the business, the data, and the right to keep using it exactly as before". Its explainer on [licensing versus selling](https://polyshares.com/answers/data-licensing-vs-selling-data) says an exclusive license "commands a premium but closes off every other buyer for the duration". And it says there is ["no exclusivity while we talk"](https://polyshares.com/answers/how-data-licensing-deals-work), which means you can compare offers before you sign.

These statements can all be true at once: a deal can be exclusive by default, negotiated to a fixed term, and perpetual in some cases. But you cannot tell from the website which applies to your deal. Ask for the exclusivity scope, length and any perpetual rights in the written offer, and compare it with [exclusive vs non-exclusive data licenses](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/exclusive-vs-non-exclusive-data-license) before you sign.

| Where | What it says |
| --- | --- |
| [Data handling page](https://polyshares.com/data-handling) | "Defined systems, a defined term, and exclusive by default unless we agree otherwise." |
| [Case studies page](https://polyshares.com/track-record) | All four published deals: "Perpetual exclusive license to the operational record." |
| [Homepage](https://polyshares.com/) | The license covers "defined material for a defined term." |
| [Podcast host's summary of Ryan Lock (Oct 2026)](https://corey-ganim.kit.com/posts/18-000-for-one-introduction) | "He never signs a perpetual license. A 24-month exclusivity is the normal ask." It is not clear whether this describes Polyshares' own licenses or advice to people working on deals. |

Source: [Polyshares: how we handle your data](https://polyshares.com/data-handling)

## Who runs Polyshares?

The site is run by Polyshares, Inc. Its [team page](https://polyshares.com/team) names two managing partners. Nathan Mathews "founded and bought four companies, including Roofer.com and AO Swag", and sets terms on every deal. Ryan Lock "built and sold two companies, including Simplicity Solar, which he grew to $35M in three years", and leads diligence. These are Polyshares' descriptions; we did not verify them separately.

The site names no outside investors and does not say when the company started. It says two named people at Polyshares are the only ones who see a company's identity alongside its data, and that it does not disclose which AI labs receive which record.

Source: [Polyshares: team](https://polyshares.com/team)

## Is Polyshares legit?

On the evidence we could check, Polyshares is a real company with named partners and unusually plain published terms: no seller fee, a sample review before pricing and a stated payment window. It pays only after it has seen and approved the data, which protects it more than you, but it also means you are not asked to pay anything up front.

What we could not verify: the four case studies (names are confidential), the revenue and average-deal claims from the podcast, and the full license, which is not published. We found no public report from a company that was paid by Polyshares. Some statements on its own pages also do not line up. The homepage says "no listing", while the data-handling page says de-identified "listings are published" in a buyer portal, and its privacy page refers to "seller or broker" accounts.

Our view: worth a conversation if your records fit, but treat it as a company that does not publish its founding date or investors. Get every term that matters to you, especially exclusivity, in the signed license.

Source: [Polyshares: how we handle your data](https://polyshares.com/data-handling)

## A note on Polyshares reviews and introducer fees

Polyshares pays people who bring it deals. The podcast notes say Lock "also explains the 6% finder's fee" for people who refer deals ([Build With AI](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/he-made-%241-000-000-in-30-days-brokering-data-to-ai-labs/id1689819329?i=1000794525254)), and its portal has a separate role for introducers. That is a normal practice, but it affects what you read. Some pages that rank for "Polyshares review" may earn a fee if you sign up through them; [Onfolio's review](https://onfolio.com/reviewed/polyshares-review/), for example, discloses that it "may earn a referral fee".

Read any review, including this one, with its incentives in mind. Origin's own disclosure is at the end of this page.


## How Polyshares compares with other company-data programs

Polyshares publishes the highest headline range of the three programs we reviewed, but its own case studies sit between $110,000 and $450,000. It is also the only one that publishes example deals. Figures are as each program publishes them, read November 6, 2026.

Origin also covers the programs run by Mercor, micro1, Handshake AI and Turing. See [company data buyers compared](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/company-data-buyers-compared) for their published terms side by side, [Mercor competitors](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/mercor-competitors) for the wider field, and [exclusive vs non-exclusive data licenses](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/exclusive-vs-non-exclusive-data-license) for what each license type costs you in future deals.

| Program | Published pay | How you are paid | Exclusivity (as published) | Timing (as published) | Who is behind it |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Labelbox Prism](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/labelbox-prism-review) | About $50K to $1M+ | Upfront fee at signing plus a revenue share on downstream use | Exclusive by default | About 21 days from first call to first wire (Prism's claim) | Labelbox, a privately held AI data company founded in 2018 |
| [Polyshares](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/polyshares-review) | $100K to $2M and above, typically | Paid per license, net 30 to 60 days after approval, anonymization and delivery | Exclusive by default unless agreed otherwise; its four published deals are perpetual exclusive | Offer in one to two weeks | Polyshares, Inc., run by two managing partners; it does not publish its founding date or investors |
| [Appen enterprise data](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/appen-enterprise-data-review) | Not published; each deal quoted individually | Paid on acceptance, after you approve a sample pack | Not stated | Reply within two business days; payment timing not stated | Appen Limited, listed on the ASX (APX), founded in 1996 |


## Questions to ask Polyshares before you sign

Ask for the answers in the written offer. Our [data licensing agreement guide](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/data-licensing-agreement) explains each clause.

- Is this license exclusive? For how many months? Is any right perpetual?
- What exactly is in scope: which systems, which date range, and which record types are excluded?
- What counts as "approved", and on what date does the net 30 to 60 clock start?
- Who is the anonymization partner, and who is liable if identifying data gets through?
- Can we exclude named competitors or kinds of buyer, and will you tell us which labs licensed the data?
- Which legal entity signs and pays, and may we see the full license before we start an export?
- Is anyone being paid a finder's fee for introducing our company, and does it affect our price?


## Next step

Compare any Polyshares offer with what other programs publish: [Labelbox Prism](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/labelbox-prism-review) pays an upfront fee plus a revenue share, and [Appen's enterprise data program](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/appen-enterprise-data-review) pays on acceptance of a sample-approved dataset. Read [is selling company data to AI legit?](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/is-selling-company-data-to-ai-legit) for the ownership and privacy checks every buyer runs.

Origin Data Partners works with companies that own data and helps get it bought. We are independent of the services on this page, and a buyer may pay us when a deal closes ([how Origin is paid](https://origindatapartners.com/referral-disclosure)). [See what your data is worth](https://origindatapartners.com/check-fit).


## Questions and answers

### Is Polyshares legit?

Polyshares is a real company, Polyshares, Inc., with two named managing partners and clearly published terms: no seller fee, a sample review before pricing and payment net 30 to 60 days after delivery. Its case studies, revenue claims and full license could not be independently verified, and we found no public report from a paid seller.

### How much does Polyshares pay?

Polyshares says typical deals run $100K to $2M and above, paid by Polyshares to the company. Its four published case studies were $110,000 to $450,000. In an October 2026 podcast, its co-founder put the average deal at around $300,000.

### What is the Polyshares payout timeline?

Polyshares says an offer comes within one to two weeks of intake and the license is papered right after. Payment is net 30 to 60 days once the data has been approved, shared and anonymized. It does not pay before reviewing a sample.

### Does Polyshares charge a fee?

No. Polyshares says there is "no fee, no commission" to the seller because it is the buyer, not an agent. It does pay a finder's fee to people who introduce deals, which its co-founder described as 6% on a podcast.

### Is a Polyshares license exclusive?

By default, yes. Its data-handling page says licenses are "exclusive by default unless we agree otherwise", and all four published deals are perpetual exclusive licenses. A podcast host's summary says its co-founder treats 24-month exclusivity as the normal ask, so get the term in writing.

### Who owns Polyshares?

The site is operated by Polyshares, Inc. Its managing partners are Nathan Mathews, who it says founded or bought companies including Roofer.com and AO Swag, and Ryan Lock, who it says built and sold Simplicity Solar. The site names no outside investors.

### Is Polyshares a buyer or a broker?

Polyshares says it is the buyer: it licenses data directly, pays for it itself and supplies AI labs, with no marketplace or auction. Its data-handling page does describe de-identified listings in a buyer portal, so ask how your data will be offered to labs.

### What data does Polyshares buy?

The working record of a business: Slack and Teams, email, Drive and SharePoint, spreadsheets, CRM history, support tickets, design files, call recordings, and accounting and ERP exports. It says any company with real operating history in any sector can qualify.

## Sources

- [Polyshares: homepage](https://polyshares.com/)
- [Polyshares: sell your company's operational data](https://polyshares.com/data-licensing)
- [Polyshares: how we handle your data](https://polyshares.com/data-handling)
- [Polyshares: case studies](https://polyshares.com/track-record)
- [Polyshares: team](https://polyshares.com/team)
- [Polyshares: how does a data licensing deal work?](https://polyshares.com/answers/how-data-licensing-deals-work)
- [Polyshares: licensing data vs selling it](https://polyshares.com/answers/data-licensing-vs-selling-data)
- [Polyshares: privacy and analytics](https://polyshares.com/privacy)
- [Build With AI podcast: episode with Polyshares co-founder Ryan Lock (Oct 2026)](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/he-made-%241-000-000-in-30-days-brokering-data-to-ai-labs/id1689819329?i=1000794525254)
- [Corey Ganim newsletter: summary of the Ryan Lock interview (Oct 2026)](https://corey-ganim.kit.com/posts/18-000-for-one-introduction)
- [Onfolio: Polyshares review (Oct 2026)](https://onfolio.com/reviewed/polyshares-review/)

## Related reading

- [micro1 vs Mercor vs Handshake vs Turing: company data buyers compared (2026)](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/company-data-buyers-compared)
- [Mercor Competitors: Who Else Pays Companies for Data (2026)](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/mercor-competitors)
- [Exclusive vs non-exclusive data licenses: what sellers should know](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/exclusive-vs-non-exclusive-data-license)
- [Data licensing agreement: what to include](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/data-licensing-agreement)
- [Is selling company data to AI companies legit? How to tell a real buyer](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/is-selling-company-data-to-ai-legit)
- [How much do AI companies pay for company data?](https://origindatapartners.com/guides/company-data-value)
